Breaking the chain

So a very kind soul sent me a Liebster award thingy. Ummmm… Ok. So I looked it up and it is pretty much a blog version of a chain letter. First my response is that way back in the day when the internet was new, and chain letters flew around daily, I did the one that forever released me from them and rendered any form of metaphysical aftermath null and void. Secondly, however, lots of love to the person who sent it to me so this is for you. Because it’s just for you, I am breaking the chain and not nominating anyone else
What is your top 5 favorite books? To be honest, I am not that much of a reader, and when I do read it is slow. That is because if something really cool happens I like to reread that part a few times. So the list below is just what came to mind at the time and is not in any sort of order

.
1. The nightlord series (or anything else written by him so maybe that could be my only answer), by Aaron Dembski-Bowden
index
2. Lord of the Rings, by J.R.R Tolkein

by_the_shore
3. Dune, by Frank Herbert

dune
4. Kozure Ookami (Lone wolf and Cub), by Kazuo Koike and Goseki Kojima

lonewolf
5. The Dunwich Horror (and a lot of other short stories), by HP Lovecraft.

The_Dunwich_Horror
2. If time and money were not a consideration, what would you do as a career?
A miniature painter.

3. If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?
Do Dr. Manhatten stuff I suppose… Just not walking around in a thong all day.

2008-10-11-drmanhattan
4. What is one of your favorite quotes?
I’ve… seen things you people wouldn’t believe… Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those… moments… will be lost in time, like… tears… in… rain. Time to die…

5. What song best captures the moment in your life right now?
Time, Pink Floyd

6. At what age did you start feeling like an adult?
Ha! I’m a 40 year old boy.

7. If you could live anywhere else in the world, where would you live?
The Upper Peninsula of Michigan, right on lake Superior

AJ2834.jpg
8. How did you celebrate your last birthday?
I went to work, and ate a bowl of Raamen… whoopee

9. Which teacher most inspired you, if any?
I wouldn’t say inspired, but they made me feel human and respected: Mrs. Kennedy, Mr. Dawkins, Mr. Carlyl and Mr. Arnhoff.

10. If you could change one thing about your personality, what would you change?
I’m lazy as hell.

11. When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breath?
When I was on top of Mt. Ooyama. It was so quiet which is strange in Japan where there is so much white noise.

Here is a deserted portion of the shrine from the top of the mountain.

Here is a deserted portion of the shrine from the top of the mountain.

11 random facts about me… Oh for fuck sake…
1. I am either pessimistic or optimistic, whichever keeps a balance.
2. I’m finicky.
3. I would rather go down with the ship than give up on it.
4. I make very few friends because my loyalty to them is absolute.
5. I like almost every musical form except country and rap, though there are exceptions
6. I have one tattoo, and I wish I never got it.
7. I can often be contradictory.
8. I rarely get angry, but when I do it’s quiet, cold and forever.
9. I think it’s hilarious when people spend a lot of money trying to be something they obviously aren’t.
10. When people talk about all the places they have traveled, the only thing that comes to mind is what are they running from?
11. I dislike any sort of proselytizer. That includes religious, political and dietary.

religion4

4 thoughts on “Breaking the chain

    1. Well, it’s not really unique at all. Also, in a Japan it works against you. I am barred from many places if it’s visible. If it was in a place easily visible, I just wouldn’t be able to work at all.

      Like

      1. Oh i didn’t know that! Are they so much prejusticed? And how does it work? when you go to a restaurant for example they stop you and tell you to leave? I have read somewhere that people with tatoos are considered yakuza, is that true?

        Like

      2. Tattoos are associated with crime in general. You wouldn’t be kicked out of a restaurant, but you wouldn’t be allowed in public pools, bath houses or hot springs. If they are immediately obvious, you’ll never get a job… Especially in the public sector.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

