My tribe

One problem about being in Japan is isolation. It is very easy, convenient and completely possible to live your life as a hermit here. When you are a College kid, just getting out of school, getting a job overseas and pretty much living in a company provided dorm room, living in Japan is just an extension of College, or the first few years rather. That group lives in a bubble though and getting trashed every night, sightseeing and exploring gets old fast. I have been there, done that and bought the T shirt. That life holds no interest for me now. Most of the people I know are in that stage of their Japan life, and that’s cool, but I am just no longer interested. So for the past 3 years, I have been hermit-ish. I have tried to make new friends, but I clicked with no one and making Japanese friends is notoriously difficult. Life would be so much easier if I liked sports, but honestly, I have no interest in watching grown men play with their balls.

I finally burned myself out on computer games lately, and so I just started to look at my old hobby of painting miniatures. After I did a little research I discovered there is a great gaming club nearby. How the hell did I not know about this!? Anyways, I saw the games that were being played, really connected with a lot of cool people and had the most socially interesting time I have ever had in Japan. It sounds stupid, but my feeling was: This is my tribe… That sounds so funny but it’s true.
The make-up of this club was very eclectic, as most gaming groups are, and very diverse. There were about 5 or 6 French guys there, and they spoke perfect English, but when they were playing versus each other, they spoke French, of course. I have never heard 40k spoken in French before, but it was funny to hear French (which to my ear sounds like either talking about something very sexy, or bragging about cheese and wine) and to hear that interlaced with 40k language: “Cheese wine cheese wine wine wine cheese sexy sexy TYRANID wine wine wine cheese sexy DEEP STRIKE wine cheese wine…” looks at me, changes to English “Mawloc is very good, no?” After just socializing with them for a bit, I came to the conclusion that those guys are some of the coolest mother fuckers I have met in a long time. Too bad they live way the hell out there in Kumagaya.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While I was there, I was showing people my old pictures of works in progress, and I am getting bites on commission work again… anything to make extra money… and fuel my hobby again.

I haven’t been this excited about being in Japan for a long time.

1912-so-much-win

2 thoughts on “My tribe

Leave a Reply

