Socially awkward

Another week, another school, another goodbye. Like I said before, I shy from the spotlight like a vampire to daylight. I try to stay away from photos when I can, and I absolutely abhor the idea of a selfie. Of course if a student wants to take a picture with me, of course I will. If the company wants one, well… They’ll take one whether I like it or not. I also don’t know how to take a compliment. It’s strange I know, but sometimes I worry that people think that I am blowing them off when really it’s just me being socially awkward.

All those things are happening every week lately and it’s quite taxing. I am also getting these cute kid letters, and as long as they stick to simple kanji, hiragana and katakana, I’m ok. The older kids give it to me full barrel though and write me farewell messages well beyond my level. I am, of course, full of gratitude to get them but my reaction is kind of just a goofy grin.

Today, I am staying at Chibimaruchu a little later than normal to attend a whole school meeting. I was asked to say a few words at the meeting too since I am leaving. I may just burst into flame…

IMG_1312

Leave a Reply

